“Who would not wear it, the charming little house that immediately captivates eye and attention due to its attractive appearance”.
We are writing in September 1921. The office just taken into use by the Association for Foreigners Traffic Hilversum is well received by the reporter van de Gooi- en Eemlander, and he continues his story with a lyrical description of the work by the Director of Public Works W.M. Dudok (1884-1974) designed “Traffic house”.
The tourist map of Hilversum has added a striking and colorful building. The traveler can go here for all kinds of information “about the beauty of the Gooische lanes and the choice of accommodation”. The VVVH is making good progress and Dudok’s design is an attractive eye-catcher for the association, right outside the station, on the corner of Stationsstraat and Stationsplein.
But after more than 50 years, the Traffic House is broken in the plans for the reconstruction of the center of Hilversum and demolished in early 1972. However, construction drawings and photos must be carefully preserved “so that sufficient documentation material is available to switch to the original model at a later date – if desired – with a new build.”
Now that the station area is being overhauled again, we see an opportunity to breathe new life into Dudok’s charming house. Not an indiscriminate imitation, but a modern version, sustainable and presented in a socially responsible manner. And what a tribute to our famous city architect it would be if Traffic House 2.0 became the new home of today’s VVV / Hilversum Marketing!
February 10th 2021
In combination with a visit to the exhibition The life and work of Dudok: € 4 per person. Children up to 12 years old: free (accompanied by an adult).
Appointments for visitors to the Dudok Architecture Center in connection with the Corona crisis: