- About Dudok
- Architecture by Dudok
- Architecture Hilversum
- About DAC
Photo: www.gooienvechthistorisch.nl (SAGV032.3)
The Van Riebeeckkwartier was created between the railway line and Soestdijkerstraatweg. The streets were given the names of great Dutchmen, who had crossed the seas to discover new lands. The Oosterengweg was extended as an extension of the Jan van der Heijdenstraat, creating an important north-south connection. From the Soestdijkerstraatweg, the Van Riebeeckweg led to the new hospital to be built. A pond was also included in the urban development plan, with both a practical and an aesthetic function. The practical and sound construction was checked by the officials of the Reconstruction. Housing law homes, middle-class homes, a church, a shopping center and flats for bachelors and the elderly were included in the district. Low-rise and high-rise in three layers was the starting point.
Source: Annette Koenders, Hilversum. Architectuur en Stedenbouw 1850-1940, Zwolle (2001).
Between the railway and the Soestdijkerstraatweg, Hilversum